The ANC mayoral candidates - NEC

Mxolisi Kaunda candidate for eThekwini, Eugene Johnson in NMB, Mpho Moerane in Joburg

ANC statement on the outcomes of the extended NEC

22 November 2021

The National Executive Committee of the ANC met in a special session on Sunday, 21 November 2021 to consider nominations for mayoral candidates in metro, local and district municipalities. The NEC also considered the report on engagements with other parties in hung municipalities.

Our Alliance partners, the South African Communist Party (SACP) and the Congress of South African Trade Unions (Cosatu) were invited to participate in the meeting.

The movement adopted comprehensive criteria for Mayors, Speakers and other political office-bearers, aimed at ensuring that leaders who are capable, committed and experienced are placed in these crucial positions.

These criteria include the candidates understanding of municipal finances, administrative capability, the regulatory environment of local government, ability to unite, steer and inspire the leadership of the municipality, and willingness to place themselves at the service of communities.

Above all, the ANC expects our deployees to be leaders in good standing: honest, people with integrity and high ethical standards; no criminal record; no pending corruption charges; and they must be rooted and grounded in the community where they reside.

Over the past week close to 600 mayoral candidates for 206 metro, local and district councils were subjected to rigorous interviews by 26 interview panels.

The panels consisted of ANC National Officials, members of the NEC, Alliance, Leagues and other ANC cadres, with experience in local government and development.

The panels considered the candidates' qualifications and relevant experience as well as their understanding of the social and economic drivers of local government.

The ANC is proud to table the outcomes of this process which is an important component in the renewal and self-correction and accountability of the ANC.

Following a rigorous screening process and interviews by the ANC national officials, the following candidates were confirmed by the NEC for deployment in relevant metro and other critical municipalities.

Buffalo City: Xola Phakati (M)

Mangaung: Mxolisi Siyonzana (M)

eThekwini Mxolisi Kaunda (M)

Nelson Mandela Metro: Eugene Johnson (F)

Ekurhuleni: Mzwanidle Masina (M)

Johannesburg: Mpho Moerane


In the coming week, over 200 ANC mayoral candidates will be fielded, including in larger towns such


- Polokwane: John Mpe (M)

- Sol Plaatjie (Kimberley): Kagisho Sonyoni (M)

- Gasegonyane (Kuruman): Neo Masegela (M)

- Dawid Kruiper (Upington): Michael Segede (M)

- Mbombela (Nelspruit): Sibongile Makhushe (F)

- Emalahleni (Witbank): Linah Malatjie (F)

- Emfuleni: Sipho Radebe (M)

- KwaDukuza (Stanger): Linda Nhaca (F)

- Matjabeng (Welkom): Thanduxolo David Khalipha (M)

- Mahikeng: Tshepiso Mphehlo (F)

- Matlosana (Klerksdorp): Ntlupheko Tsolela (M)

- Mogale City Lucky Sele (M)

- JB Marks (Potchefstroom): Gaba ka Qhele (M)

- Rustenburg Shiela Mabale Huma (F)

- Oudtshoorn Chad Louw (M)

Other mayoral candidates decided by the NEC will be communicated by the provincial structures. Provinces have also interviewed and finalised the lists of all Speaker candidates to represent the ANC at various councils.

Women and Youth in Local government

We have sought to uphold the fundamental principle of gender equality and the affirmation of women leadership in our deployment of mayoral candidates.

Just under half of all ANC mayoral candidates (46.5 percent) are women. We will ensure that gender equality is advanced through other leadership deployments at an executive level in municipalities.

We ensured that 16 percent of our mayoral candidates are under 40. Our youngest Mayor is Chad Louw, who was elected as the Mayor of Oudtshoorn at the age of 24.

In line with our commitment to the district development model, as an enabler of joint planning,

budgeting and implementation across the three spheres of government, special attention was also paid to the deployment of appropriate district mayoral candidates.

Coalition talks in Hung Councils

The NEC further received a report from the team involved in discussions with other political parties regarding co-operation in those municipalities where no party received an outright majority mandate to govern.

Our engagements were guided by the framework and principles adopted at the previous NEC meeting namely that the ANC will seek to co-operate with all parties committed the principles and objectives outlined in our Local Government Elections Manifesto aimed at building better communities and improving the lives of residents of municipalities.

The NEC noted that these discussions have concluded and all municipalities will convene by the statutory deadline of Tuesday, 23 November 2021 to elect mayors and other office-bearers.

The ANC will create a political management committee that will be reference point for resolving problems should they arise with any of our coalition partners in the municipalities.


It is important to remember that these were the elections where the people sent a clear message to the ANC. They still trust us to lead them, but all is not well.

The ANC must do better, we must serve them better and we must work harder to correct the movement.

ANC councillors have pledged to serve their communities with dedication and honesty and to execute our electoral mandate to the best of their ability.

We will hold our mayors, and all other councillors, accountable to the Pledge they made to the people of South Africa.

Issued by Pule Mabe, National Spokesperson, ANC, 22 November 2021