Behaviour of protesters outrageous – UCT Senate

Signatories say they support the executive in every effort to restore law and order to campus

Statement from members of Senate

Released: 11h42, 09 November 2015

10 November 2015

Today, the Senate meeting was disrupted by a group of 100-150 protesters who threw food and water at members, and refused to leave when asked. The vice-chancellor adjourned Senate. The protesters demanded answers to questions. The vice-chancellor was shouted down when he tried to reply, and physically jostled and verbally abused by some of the protesters. Senate is outraged by these events and condemns this unlawful behaviour in the strongest terms. The office and person of the vice-chancellor has been assaulted and the dignity as well as constitutional rights of Senate and its members have been compromised. Senate supports the executive in every effort to restore law and order to campus, so that the examination process can be completed without disruption, and the academic project can be advanced.

Support for this statement (circulated to Senate at 18h00 on 9 November 2015) was received by the following members of Senate (by 06h00 on 10 November 2015):

Alan Hirsch

Alexander Paterson

Alexandra Watson

Alison Lewis

Andre Peshier

Andrew Lilley

Andy Buffler

Anthony Black

Anton Fagan

Bernhard Weiss

Bette Davidowitz

Caroline Ncube

Carolyn Hamilton

Carolyn Williamson

Carrol Clarkson

Catherine Ward

Chris Harris

Clive Gray

Corne van Walbeek

Craig West

Dan Stein

Danwood M Chirwa

David Benatar

David Erwin

David Gammon

David Marais

Daya Reddy

Deborah Posel

Edward Sturrock

Elisa Galgut

Elrena van der Spuy

Fiona Ross

Fritha Langerman

Geoff Bick

George A Ekama

Gonda Perez

Hanri Mostert

Harald Winkler

Haroon Bhorat

Harro von Blottnitz

Heather Zar

Helen Scott

Hugh Corder

Imraan Coovadia

Jaco Barnard-Naude

Jacquie Greenberg

Jan Glazewski

Jean-Paul van Belle

Jenni Case

Jeremy Midgley

Jeremy Seekings

Joan Hambidge

John Dunne

John Parkington

Jonathan Blackburn

Judith Sealy

Justin O'Riain

Karen Barnes

Kelly Chibale

Kelwyn Sole

Kevin Naidoo

Laura Czerniewicz

Lorna J Martin

Malcolm Collins

Mark Graham

Mark New

Martin Wittenberg

Michael Wormald

Mike Campbell

Mike Rossi

Naomi Levitt

Neil Armitage

Nicola Illing

Nicoli Nattrass

Nigel Worden

Owen Crankshaw

Pamela Schwikkard

Patrick Woudt

Paul Bowen

Paula Ensor

Peter Dunsby

Pieter Rousseau

Pippa Skotnes

Rajend Mesthrie

Renee C. Kraan-Korteweg

Robert Knutsen

Robert Mattes

Robert Simmonds

Rodney Ehrlich

Russ Taylor

Saalih Allie

Sandie Thomson

Sebastian van As

Shadreck Chirikure

Stephen Inggs

Steve Reid

Tania Douglas

Timm Hoffman

Timothy Egan

Tjakie Naude

Tom Moultrie

Tommie Meyer

Valerie Mizrahi

Vivian Bickford-Smith

Walter Baets

Bongani Mayosi

Claude Carignan

Colin Tredoux

Ermien van Pletzen

Graham Fieggen

Gwenda Thomas

Peter Martinez

Peter Meissner

Rodney Erhlich

Silke Dyer

Susan Kidson

Vanessa Watson

Vimal Ranchhod

Statement issued by UCT, 10 November 2015