President Zuma accepts SABC board member resignations - Presidency

Mac Maharaj says board six members, in addition to chairperson and his deputy, have stepped down


President Zuma accepts resignations of SABC Board members

18 March 2013

President Jacob Zuma has received six more letters of resignation from members of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) Board.

These are:

Mr Lumko Mtimde; Mr John Danana; Mr Cedric Gina; Mr Desmond Golding; Adv Cawe Mahlati and Ms Noluthando Gosa.

The President has accepted their resignations and thanked them for their contribution during their tenure as Board Members of the SABC. Last week, the President received a joint resignation letter from the Chairperson of the Board Dr Ben Ngubane and his Deputy Mr Thami ka Plaatjie and has also since accepted their resignations.

The President has requested the Minister of Communications, Ms Dina Pule to liaise with the National Assembly regarding the process to fill the vacancies left by the members who have resigned. 

Statement issued by Mac Maharaj, The Presidency, March 18 2013

Click here to sign up to receive our free daily headline email newsletter