The nominees for the SABC board - Parliament

Ronnie Lubisi, Noluthando Gosa, Krish Naidoo and Bongani Khumalo among 12 names to be presented to President Zuma

The Portfolio Committee on Communications today appointed 12 of the 37 short-listed candidates to be non-executive members of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) Board.

The Committee wishes to express its gratitude to the South Africans who availed themselves to be nominated for the SABC Board. After the process of inviting the public to nominate persons for consideration and recommendation, responses were received from 147 individuals. The Committee short-listed 37 candidates to be interviewed and of that 37, one withdrew from the process.

After interviewing 36 candidates in open meetings in Parliament and in Johannesburg, the Committee resolves that the National Assembly, in accordance with section 13 (4)a of the Broadcasting Act of 1999, recommends to President Jacob Zuma that the following candidates be appointed as non-executive members on the SABC Board.

1. Ms Zandile Ellen Tshabalala
2. Ms Rachel Kalidas
3. Mr Thembinkosi King Bonakele
4. Prof Bongani Khumalo
5. Ms Noluthando Primrose Gosa
6. Mr Ronnie Lubisi
7. Ms Hope Zinde
8. Mr Vusumuzi Mavuso
9. Prof Mbulaheni Obed Maguvhe
10. Mr Krish Naidoo
11. Ms Nomvuyo Memory Mhlakaza
12. Dr Ndivhoniswani Aaron Tshidzumba

The Committee has noted the objection by the Democratic Alliance, Congress of the People and Inkatha Freedom Party to the 12 names which have been recommended. Despite the objection by the opposition parties, the Committee appreciates the hard work and commitment shown by all members who served on the task team responsible for the appointment of the 12 candidates.

The Committee further emphasises that the order of appointed candidates is not a reflection of priority.

Statement issued by Parliamentary Communication Services on behalf of the Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Communications, Mr. Sikhumbuzo Kholwane, September 17 2013

Click here to sign up to receive our free daily headline email newsletter