Certain members should recuse themselves from Section 194 Committee – Floyd Shivambu

EFF Chief Whip writes to speaker, say allegations of impropriety threaten to undermine credibility of process

Request for recusal and leave of absence of certain members of the Committee of Section 194 Enquiry

5 June 2023

Subject: Request for recusal and leave of absence of certain members of the Committee of Section 194 Enquiry

Dear Speaker,

It has come to our attention that the Chairperson of the Committee on Section 194 Enquiry, Mr. Richard Dyantyi, member of the Committee, Ms. Tina Joemat-Peterson, and the Chief Whip of the Majority Party, Ms. Pemmy Majodina, have been implicated in serious allegations of impropriety. These allegations are of a nature that they threaten to severely undermine the credibility of Parliament and undermine the work of Section 194 Enquiry.

Specifically, these members stand accused of soliciting a bribe from the Public Protector Advocate Mkhwebane, as alleged by her husband, Mr. David Skosana. A case has been lodged with the South African Police Services (SAPS) and there is prima facie evidence to support these claims, including verifiable WhatsApp communications between Mr. Skosana and Ms. Joemat-Peterson.

Given the gravity of the allegations, and in the interest of preserving the credibility and integrity of our Parliament, I hereby request that the aforementioned members be asked to recuse themselves from the Committee on Section 194 Enquiry with immediate effect. Furthermore, it would be prudent for these members to take a leave of absence from the National Assembly while the investigation into these allegations is ongoing.

Our democracy and the trust of the citizens we serve rest on the transparency, fairness, and integrity of our actions. We strongly believe that this move will send a clear message to the public that we are committed to maintaining the highest standards of conduct within our Parliament.

We trust that you will handle this matter with the seriousness it deserves and look forward to your prompt response and action.

We hope you find the above in order.


N F Shivambu

EFF Deputy President and Chief Whip

5 June 2023